Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Rick 34 posts 83 karma points
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 20:26
    Rick

Membership & Multiple Websites

I am new to umbraco and need a little help understanding how the membership functionality works.

I am looking to create a root website that acts as a online website builder for members (not users).

A person would come to the website builder and signup (become a member). They would go through the process and in the end have a completed website. They would also have the ability to have member signups for their websites as well.

I know that you have have mulitple websites in one umbraco installation but how do you divide the members of the root website and the member's site members?

My goal is to allow a global admin to edit any member website, a manager to edit a certain set of member websites, and a general member to edit only their website and it's members. It would be parent-child approach down the line (like below).

-Global Admin (Root Website and down)
       -Manager (Group of Member Created Websites)
           -General Member (Member Created Website)
              -Member Created Website Member

Any help on how I would structure this in umbraco would be awesome!

Aug 06, 2009 @ 20:57
    Rick

Anybody out there understand my question?

• Morten Bock 1867 posts 2140 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 21:57
    Morten Bock

It's a big question so that may be why no one has replied yet.

As far as I understand, all of the mentioned roles are umbraco "members" right? So everyone would be using the frontend to edit and manage their content/members?

When you say they can create their own website, is this literaly a website with their own domain, or is it just a section on a common domain?

Maybe if you explain a bit about the usercase, then it is easier for us to see how it would fit into umbraco.