Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Muneeb 11 posts 81 karma points
    1 week ago
    Muneeb

Hi everyone, I am new to Umbraco and I am facing an Issue. I have source code(developed by someone else) of an umbraco website(already deployed) in which I have made some fixes just in views and now want to deploy it again on server through ftp. But I am not able, I have deployed a website before so can someone please help me from start how to do it. Thanks in advance

• Craig Mayers 70 posts 211 karma points
    1 week ago
    Craig Mayers

Hi Muneeb,

What do you mean you are not able to FTP?

Do you mean... You don't know how to OR you can't, due to an error or something? Do you have RDP access by any chance?

Just trying to understand what the actual issue is you are having.

Regards

Craig

1 week ago
    Muneeb

Hi Craig thanks for reply. I am uploading website code using a software 'filezilla'. When it's done uploading, there are only files tree on my domain. I mean no page renders, just a tree showing like this this is my domain front

I don't even know which file to change before deploying. Basically I am very new to deploying. Sorry for my english

1 week ago
    Craig Mayers

Hi Muneeb,

What is your hosting package?

Have you specified a default document in your web.config? See: https://www.iis.net/configreference/system.webserver/defaultdocument

Have you also set up your database? And have you updated your web.config to point to your live database?

Craig

1 week ago
    Muneeb

Hi Craig, I know it's not a hosting package issue.

I have not specified a default document. I'll follow this link to set a default document.

No I have not set my database again for deployment. Can you please guide me more about it.

1 week ago
    Craig Mayers

You will need to deploy your database then and update your web.config file with the new Connection String.