Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• SteveMid 25 posts 127 karma points
    Oct 18, 2016 @ 10:02
    SteveMid

404 error when saving stylesheets

Disclaimer: I am completely new to Umbraco so this is very likely to be something I've done incorrectly somewhere along the way

Hi all.

I have installed Umbraco locally and am just trying to set-up a 'hello world' test site using Bootstrap.

When I click on 'Settings --> Stylesheets' and select a CSS file to edit, the editor loads the stylesheet fine. I can edit the code, but when I click 'save' I receive a 404 page:

The resource cannot be found.
    Description: HTTP 404. The resource you are looking for (or one of its dependencies) could have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.  Please review the following URL and make sure that it is spelled correctly. 

Requested URL: /Steve/umbraco/umbraco/Steve/umbraco/settings/stylesheet/editStylesheet.aspx

I've checked the path for editStylesheet.aspx and it is looking in the wrong location:

/Steve/umbraco/umbraco/Steve/umbraco/settings/stylesheet/editStylesheet.aspx  <-- looking here
                         /Steve/umbraco/settings/stylesheet/editStylesheet.aspx <--- file is actually here

The edits I make to the .css files are saved correctly, but clearly something is wrong in the Umbraco configuration somewhere. I have not (knowingly) varied from the bog-standard installation process.

I thought a similar thing might happen if I edit a file in the scripts section, but they load (and edit) correctly.

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thank you.

• Paul Seal 524 posts 2889 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Oct 18, 2016 @ 13:22
    Paul Seal