Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Fahad Ayub 71 posts 238 karma points
    Apr 13, 2016 @ 14:53
    Fahad Ayub

Hi, I just started learning Umbraco, I have started small project just to learn Umbraco. I am having problem in creating custom controller. I have a link on my page for user to browse all the products:

@Html.ActionLink("View more", "Index", "Product", null, new { title = "Browse all Products" })

Controller

public class ProductController : SurfaceController
    {
        // GET: Fragrance

public ActionResult Index()
            {

return View("Product");
            }

}

But when I run it I get error message HTPP 404 about view Product not found. The Umbraco engine for some reason looking in folder /umbraco/Surface/Product But all my views are under Views folder in my project. Please let me knpow how to fix this.

Thanks

• Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 08:05
    Steve Morgan

Hi Fahad,

Welcome to Our - I think you've not had a reply as it's not clear what you're trying to do. Looking at your code I'm going to make an assumption or two.. apologies if I get this wrong. It looks like you've come from an pure MVC world and have gone head first in...

@Html.ActionLink is not used in Umbraco - it depends what you're trying to do with this "Custom Controller" - but for generating links to your content you probably just want to use the in-built Umbraco goodness via Razor and the @Model object.

There are two types of controllers in Umbraco - a Surface Controller (which you mention you want) and a Custom Controller which "route hijacks". You have't said what you're trying to do with this controller but from the name of it I'd guess it shouldn't be a SurfaceController but rather a custom controller but this is a guess :) .