Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• npack 18 posts 179 karma points
    Mar 05, 2024 @ 21:06
    npack

How does 'Preview' work? - A few simple preview and publish related questions for a first timer

When I click 'Save and Preview' as a content editor I get a new window with a "Preview Mode' footer bar where I can see my unpublished changes.

The preview bar also has a button on it that says 'Preview Website' which opens yet another window that instead of a full 'Preview Mode' bar, has a little 'Preview Mode' tray. It has a little elipsis ('...') which when hovered over says 'Open preview in Backoffice' which seems to toggle the full Preview Mode bar back on.

1) What are these two different preview modes? I'm not sure when I would use one over the other.

2) If I save changes on a child page without publishing, I see that I have a 'Publish with descendants' option on my root node which seems to publish any unpublished changes on that whole section of my content tree. Neat. It launches a dialog though that contains a toggle "Include unpublished content items" which is either redundant or confusing me since my child page gets its changes published regardless of whether the toggle is on/off. Perhaps it is for child pages that have NEVER been published?

3) Is there a place to see a list of all unpublished content in the backoffice?

4) If I want my saved changes to be reviewed by someone else before being published, is that the only way for them to launch into preview mode, by opening any page in edit mode and clicking 'Save and preview'?

• Danine Noble 75 posts 330 karma points
    Mar 08, 2024 @ 16:38
    Danine Noble

Morning npack ^^