Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Marcus 41 posts 182 karma points
    Dec 12, 2023 @ 03:32
    Marcus

How to track content accessibility

Nice day guys.

I have contents of Blog document type and I would like to count user access times.

I'm using a property called View Count for the document type and increase 1 every time the template renders. The problem is I don't want the content to be published so I'm using Save (Content Service) and it makes the content status Published (spending changes) in umbraco backoffice.

It's not good I think. Is there any solution makes this better? Because I only want to know how many times the blog requested and don't make any change for the contents

I'm new with umbraco. Appreciate any help!

• Marc Goodson 2148 posts 14353 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Dec 12, 2023 @ 11:39
    Marc Goodson

Hi Marcus

First thought would something like this plugin do the job?

https://marketplace.umbraco.com/package/flowcourier.umbraco.analytics

if your site has google analytics, you can get much more information than just a count of the number of visits...

If not, and you only want the count of views, and you only want to manage it yourself - then you should avoid saving the count value on the doc type itself. This will create a version for every single save - if a an editor uses the rollback feature of Umbraco to go back to an earlier version of the blog post - they'll also rollback the current count!

It would be better to have a custom database table, that has columns for the pageId and the count, and then have an UmbracoApiController that could receive a request via javascript when the page is loaded, that then could update the database table with the increased count.