Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Juan C Rois 6 posts 99 karma points
    Jul 06, 2020 @ 17:36
    Juan C Rois

Virtual Content and Custom URL

Hello everybody!

First of all, Thanks to all the Umbraco developers out there. I've been using Umbraco for 18 months and the questions/answers in this forum have helped me a lot.

I need help with something that I'm very confused about. Thanks in advance for any feedback I get.

I want to be able to render published content nodes (as virtual nodes) under a single node/template.

I have 2 root level content nodes (created from their respective document types):
    Home
    Catalog

Under "Home" I have landing pages and child pages:
    Home
      ↳ Products (landing page)
        ↳ Category (child page)
      ↳ Locations (landing page)
        ↳ Location (child page)
      ↳ ...

Under "Catalog" I have a similar structure:
    Catalog
      ↳ Products
        ↳ Categogy
          ↳ Product 1
          ↳ Product 2

What I'm trying to accomplish is to be able to serve "Product 1" on "mywebsite.com/products/category/product-1".
    As is, "mywebsite.com/products/category/product-1" would not work given that there is no content node or template associated with "product 1" under "/products/category".

I was able to get it to work using an instance of "IContentFinder". The problem with that approach is that even though I got the content node displayed in the page. All the document type properties of the ancestors were missing.

Furthermore, I used:

var path = contentRequest.Uri.GetAbsolutePathDecoded();
    if (path.StartsWith("/products/category"))
    {...}

That ended up loading the content under "mywebsite.com/products/category", replacing the content node that belongs to the "category (child page)". Which is not virtual.