Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chris Foot 61 posts 93 karma points
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 14:25
    Chris Foot

Saving multiple values against a field from MVC controller

Hi All,

I'm really new to both Umbraco and MVC and I have just discovered the multiple textbox editor type which is fantastic for getting options into dropdowns/checkbox lists but what I can't work out is how to save data back into an umbraco model with one of these fields. In my editor I have:

<div class="row checkbox-list">
    @foreach (var o in Model.LearningObjectives)
    {
        <label><input type="checkbox" name="SelectedLearningObjectives" value="@o" /> @o</label>
    }
    </div>

Which comes back to my controller as a string[]. Unfortunately, when I try and save it back to a document (in this case a member) like this:

member.SetValue("learningObjectives", model.SelectedLearningObjectives);

I get:

The best overloaded method match for 'Umbraco.Core.Models.ContentBase.SetPropertyValue(string, string)' has some invalid arguments

Am I going about this all wrongly? Is there a better way to store multiple selections against a document?

Thanks

Chris

• Tom van Enckevort 107 posts 429 karma points
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 15:34
    Tom van Enckevort

The second parameter in the SetValue method has to be a string as well. This is the actual value that will be stored in the database. So in your case you probably want to convert your string array to a comma-separated string (or use another character as the separator):

string selectedObjectives = string.Join(",", model.SelectedLearningObjectives);
    member.SetValue("learningObjectives", selectedObjectives);

(Note that you need to a null-check as well on your array, in case no objectives were selected).

And obviously you need to convert things back again when you read the property value: