Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • blackdog 53 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:06
    blackdog
    0

    Nesting masterpage to have a standard home page

    Hi to all,

    've created my first own template with umbraco!!! Now i'd like to insert the j carousel listi items on home page...

    To do this i 've created a master

    <%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="/umbraco/masterpages/default.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <asp:Content ContentPlaceHolderID="ContentPlaceHolderDefault" runat="server">

    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <title>Black Berry by Free CSS Templates</title>
    <meta name="keywords" content="" />
    <meta name="description" content="" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/css/prova.css" />
    </head>
    <body>
    <form runat="server">   
    <div id="header">
    <div id="logo">
        <h1><a href="#">black berry </a></h1>
        <h2>By Free CSS Templates</h2>
    </div>
    </div>
    <div id="menu-wrap">
    <div id="menu">
        <umbraco:Macro Alias="RunwayTopNavigation" runat="server" />
    </div>
    </div>
    <hr />
    <div id="latest-post-wrap">
    <div id="latest-post" class="post">
       
    <asp:ContentPlaceHolder runat="server" id="masterprovaContentPlaceHolder" />


    </div>
    </div>

    </asp:Content>

     

    Inside this master i've creted home page template

    <%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="/masterpages/masterprova.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <asp:Content id="partesuperiore" ContentPlaceHolderID="masterprovaContentPlaceHolder" runat="server">


    <div id="latest-post" class="post">
    <p class="byline"><span><umbraco:Item field="data" runat="server"></umbraco:Item></p>
        <h1 class="title"><umbraco:Item field="title" runat="server"></umbraco:Item></h1>
        <div class="entry">
    <asp:ContentPlaceHolder runat="server" id="partesuperioreContentPlaceHolder" />
    <div id="subNavigation">
    <umbraco:Item field="bodyText" runat="server"></umbraco:Item></div>
        <p class="meta"><a href="#" class="comments">14 Comments</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="#" class="permalink">Permalink</a></p>
    </div>
    </asp:Content>

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:21
    Warren Buckley
    0

    Sorry I dont fully understand the question?
    What do you want to do?

  • blackdog 53 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:27
    blackdog
    0

    I'd like to insert the jcarousel block on my homepage... The problem is i can't pass the value of the mcaro direclty in the edit in thid case. I've to create new template. I 've created so a mastermapage and homepage. In the homepage i recall the child template for jcarousel...

    But i do a mistake that i don't understand.

     

    Thanks

     

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 15:41
    Warren Buckley
    2

    Ok this is straightforward from what I understand.

    In your masterpage add a new <asp:contentplacholder> tag with a new unique ID and insert your markup or macro you want to be displayed.
    In other child templates that use the top level master where you want to change the markup from the carousel OR remove it all together.

    Masterpage

    <!-- Move this contentplaceholder where you need it in your markup -->
    <asp:ContentPlaceHolder runat="server" id="masterExtraContent">
       <!-- The jCarousel markup/macro you want to add here-->
    </asp:ContentPlaceHolder>

    Child Template

    <%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="/masterpages/masterprova.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>
    <asp:Content id="extraContent" ContentPlaceHolderID="masterExtraContent" runat="server">
    <!-- Leave blank to remove the jCarousel or write new markup to replace the jCarousel -->
    </asp:content>
    <asp:Content id="partesuperiore" ContentPlaceHolderID="masterprovaContentPlaceHolder" runat="server">
    Your EXISTING xhtml markup
    </asp:content>
  • blackdog 53 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:04
    blackdog
    0

    No we don't understand... i think. Sorry but my english is awfull! Anyway...

    i try to do waht you say me but don't works... I have three nested pages...

    1) Master (this page have to remain always the same... this the structure of the site with contentplaceholder i recall child template)

    2) home page (that pass some value from macros for the news and other thing)

    3) j carousel tamplate that is son of home page... Now i try to recall the jcarousel template directly with the content place holder form the home page but i haven't success. I know if this way to work looks so stange but in this way i can create some page without take risks by the masterpage...

    I can't show you the site because is on a private server... 

     

    Thanks for your help

     

     

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:09
    Warren Buckley
    0

    Sorry I dont understand your reply?
    You have three templates and what are you exactly wanting to do?

    You want to put the jCarousel stuff on the homepage, if so just add the Macro to the homepage template/masterpage.

    If you want something else please let me know and try to explain in detail as best as possible what you wanting to achieve.

    Thanks,
    Warren

  • blackdog 53 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:21
    blackdog
    0

    Then.

    i want to insert the jcarousel stuff on the home page. Jcarousel have a template that call the macro jcarousellistItems.. ok?

    In the home page i don't want the macro but directly to insert a contentplaceholder to recall the jcarousel template.

    Or how can i structure the template to do this?

    This my master page. http://www.freecsstemplates.org/preview/blackberry

    I want to insert the jcarousel where is the photo. in the "first" part of the body.

     

    Thanks

     

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:28
    Warren Buckley
    0

    Why do you not want the jCarousel Macro on the homepage template?
    It does not make sense to have this third level to store the jCarousel macro.

  • blackdog 53 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:35
    blackdog
    0

    But if insert the jcarouslelistitems macro i dont' see nothing...

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:36
    Warren Buckley
    0

    That is probably some configuration thing to do with the macro and not a problem with masterpages.
    I recommend you contact the author of the jCarousel package and ask for assistance.

    Warren

  • blackdog 53 posts 24 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 16:50
    blackdog
    0

    maybe it's better thing... In fact i insert the mcaro in the home page template... i can see the divs s3 slider and generated li items of jcarousel (with ie developer toolbar and also with firebug) but on screen the slider doesn't exist.

    Anyway thanks for all precious help

    Blackdog form Italy.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft