Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nicky 10 posts 89 karma points
    Sep 28, 2017 @ 14:08
    Nicky

Nesting Archetype with partial views

Hi all,

I'm new with Archetype and I can't figure out how to nest them. I want to build a "widget" based website where the client can add these "widgets" so he can build his own pages.

This is what I did:

1. I created a new data type called Slider, I chose Archetype as my property editor (obviously). I added one fieldset and in the properties section I added a text string

2. I created a new data type called Page builder. In this data type I added multiple fieldsets (Header, Text and Slider).

3. I created a new document type named Generic page where I added the Page builder

In my GenericPage.cshtml I have the following code:

@inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage
    @using Archetype.Extensions
    @using Archetype.Models

@{
        Layout = "_Layout.cshtml";

var fieldsets = Model.Content.GetPropertyValue<ArchetypeModel>("modules");
    }

@Html.RenderArchetypePartials(fieldsets, "~/Views/Partials/Archetype/")

The header and text renders perfectly but my slider isn't. How can I render the nested archetype data type?

In my slider.cshtml I added the following code:

<section class="slider">
        @foreach (var fieldset in Model.Content.GetPropertyValue<ArchetypeModel>("sliderItem"))
        {
            <h1>@fieldset.slideTitle</h1>
        }
    </section>

I hope this make sence and you guys can help me out.

• Tobias Klika 101 posts 570 karma points c-trib
    Oct 01, 2017 @ 21:10
    Tobias Klika

I have no clue how your model looks right now, but an easy solution to your problem is:

1. Run site and attach debugger in VS
    2. Set a breakpoint in the line where the foreach is located (where you get the sliderItem)
    3. When the breakpoint is reached, inspect Model.Content.Properties.