Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Mathias Andreasen 43 posts 155 karma points
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 09:22
    Mathias Andreasen
    0

    Is there a way to turn off caching?

    Like the title says, is there a way to turn off the insane caching that's going on in the Umbraco Backoffice? It so effin' frustrating to do any kind of development in the backoffice since I can't see any changes because Umbraco seems to cache everything until the end of time.

    my workflow when doing backoffice development is usually:

    • Make a change
    • CTRL+R / Reload the page / Open the page in ingognito mode in chrome
    • Get mad because my simple change isn't visible

    I usually end up restarting my entire computer to get Umbraco to release the cache, this is so frustrating.

    Is there a way to turn off caching alltogether in the umbraco backoffice?

  • Niels Lynggaard 190 posts 548 karma points
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 09:28
  • Mathias Andreasen 43 posts 155 karma points
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 09:44
    Mathias Andreasen
    0

    Thank you

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 12:25
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    2

    Yes, a few things:

    1. In web.config make sure that you set debug="true" that stops the ClientDependency Framework (CDF) from kicking in. As long as CDF is in control (so when debug="false") you will have cache problems.
    2. To manually update the CDF cache, as mentioned above, you can always update the version number in ~/config/ClientDependency.config (just make it 1 higher)
    3. Browsers have a quite aggressive cache, especially Chrome is known to cache quite hard. If you're doing active development, always open the Chrome developer tools and on the Network tab make sure to "Disable cache" (see screenshot). That should help a lot (when debug="true")
      enter image description here

    The cachebuster package mentioned above does help in some instances but not when debug="false" and you 99.9% of the time will not need it.

  • Tom van Enckevort 107 posts 429 karma points
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 12:38
    Tom van Enckevort
    0

    I think you got the debug settings mixed up there ;-) Should be debug="true" to stop CDF from kicking in.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 12:42
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    1

    Haha! Thanks Tom, at least I was consistent. All fixed now!

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft