Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Simon Dingley 1470 posts 3427 karma points c-trib
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 12:58
    Simon Dingley

Integrating Google Website Optimizer

Has anyone successfully integrated Google Website Optimizer with an Umbraco site? I have a potential build coming up that may require this and would be interested in any comments or ideas on how to implement this within an Umbraco site. I have no previous experience of GWO but from my basic understanding of it could be difficult to achieve with Umbraco. The requirement would require many of the document type properties to be wrapped in GWO scripts.

Thanks, Simon

• Mike 80 posts 101 karma points
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 08:21
    Mike

I tried it once, very short, did not put very much effort in it, but from what I can remember you insert some JS code in your page. In umbraco you would create different templates. In GWO management you put the different URLs in. One for the original page and the other with the ?template=othertemplate option. (don't know if this is the exact parameter). 

• Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 12:46
    Tim

It's not that difficult, we do it on a few of our Umbraco sites. The main thing is to build your site and templates with that kind of stuff in mind.

For example we have a base bage document type that all of the page types inherit from that has an SEO/Tracking tab that contains multiline text fields that allow you to drop code in the various place on a page where you might want to drop tracking code (header, beginning of body, end of body), that way you can drop the optimiser code onto the pages easily.