Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Anita Thagaard Kristensen 33 posts 53 karma points
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 17:08
    Anita Thagaard Kristensen

Re use existing Content and child nodes

Hi

Does anyone knows how to reuse content indstead of copy paste?

Anita

• Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10091 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 17:23
    Ismail Mayat

Anita,

In the past I have done it by creating a blank node and that has source node parameter which is content picker. With that content picker i set to the target node.  In the template i use xslt macro that for the current page gets the source node id and does GetXmlNodeById and writes out a given property normally bodyText.

Regards

Ismail

Aug 24, 2010 @ 18:51

Hi Ismail

Can you tell me step for step how to do it. I'm sorry I'm a newbie

Regards

Anita

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 21:24
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Anita

The content you need to reuse is that sidebar content or something like that? And do you have access to the settings and developer settings or do you only add content to the site?

If you have administrator rights you can do as Ismail is saying. I would do it in a similar fashion. You could for instance do the following:

1) Go to the "Settings" section, add a new property to your document type. You could for instance name it "reauseable content" and choose "content picker" for it's document type.

2) In your content section, create the content that should be reused on multiple sites.

3) Select that specific node on those pages that need to display the same content.

4) Create a XSLT macro in the developer section where you can fetch the content by using the GetXmlNodeById extension. You can see the Wiki for documentation on how to use this.

I hope this clarifies the steps a bit?

/Jan

Aug 25, 2010 @ 09:54

Hi Jan