Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Nicola Bigwood 28 posts 98 karma points
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 08:23
    Nicola Bigwood
    0

    Preview button disabled

    Our Content team (admin users) have been trying out the Advanced Search and Replace tool to see whether it meets their needs, as we're in the process of switching from our old CMS to Umbraco.

    Firstly, we've had an issue that when they get results after running a search they can't then do anything. The Preview button seems to be disabled (see screenshot below - the button's green but faded out) and they can't click on it - ditto for Replace, etc. The grey Reset and Search buttons work fine. Obviously this means they can't fully test out the tool as they can't see what's been found where or what would get replaced. Have we missed something? (sorry!)

    Screenshot of Advanced Search and Replace with preview button disabled

    Secondly, is there a way to select only certain documents returned in the search to apply the change to (assuming the Replace button wasn't disabled), or would it apply to all those found?

    We've been trying this tool in Umbraco 7.6.2 and in 7.7.4.

    Thanks!

  • Jeremy Pyne 106 posts 243 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 14:12
    Jeremy Pyne
    0

    There is a option on the Other Options tab as to what it will do, preview, save, publish, or unpublished changes where preview is the default. It's probably not enabling Preview as there are not changes specified under Manipulate Records.

    There is no functionality to individual select a subset of the matched records to apply the changes to. There is a picker where you can set the start node, or search by doc type or other restrictions though.

  • Nicola Bigwood 28 posts 98 karma points
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 14:25
    Nicola Bigwood
    0

    Hi Jeremy,

    Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.

    Unfortunately, the example in my previous screenshot did have changes specified under Manipulate Records: we had entered text in the 'replace' and 'with' fields for the Text String Replacements option under Manipulate Records.

    We had also set a base start node and search depth under Select Records.

    We've tried a few different options, but nothing seems to enable the Preview button. I assume if we don't restrict to any particular template, content type, page status etc. that it will search all?

    Thanks,

    Nicola.

  • Jeremy Pyne 106 posts 243 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 14:27
    Jeremy Pyne
    0

    Copy and share the configuration under Other Options -> Save Restore Settings.

  • Nicola Bigwood 28 posts 98 karma points
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 15:41
    Nicola Bigwood
    0

    { "search": { "depth": 1, "pageStatus": "a", "activityType": "a", "matchLogic": "t", "matchType": "e", "contentTypes": [], "templates": [], "propertyTypes": [], "activityUser": [], "basePage": "1052" }, "manipulate": { "textReplace": [ { "search": "volunteers and professionals", "replace": "professionals and volunteers" } ], "regexReplace": [ {} ], "propertyTypes": [] }, "options": { "saveAction": "v", "caseSensitive": true } }

  • Jeremy Pyne 106 posts 243 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 15:46
    Jeremy Pyne
    0

    Try selecting a property to update under Manipulate Records. I think it was coded to search all if that was empty but that may be the issue.

  • Jeremy Pyne 106 posts 243 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 15:46
    Jeremy Pyne
    0

    When it works the results tab will show experts of each field before and after the change.

  • Nicola Bigwood 28 posts 98 karma points
    Jan 24, 2018 @ 15:54
    Nicola Bigwood
    0

    Ah yes, that enabled the button.

    I tried a few more properties, but my preview seems a bit more squashed than the screenshot on the package page:

    example of preview

    Does this mean having to manually select all properties, or only selecting a few properties at a time?

  • Nicola Bigwood 28 posts 98 karma points
    Feb 14, 2018 @ 10:21
    Nicola Bigwood
    0

    Hi Jeremy,

    I just wanted to check whether the above solution for enabling the button means that potentially all properties have to be manually selected before the button will be enabled? (i.e. rather than it by default running against all properties).

    Also, is there a way to get the preview to display properly? I get the screenshot as per my previous post, which isn't very legible, whereas your package page shows:

    correct screenshot of preview feature as shown on package page

    which is far more legible and comprehensible. Does a setting need changing somewhere?

    Thanks!

  • Jeremy Pyne 106 posts 243 karma points MVP c-trib
    Feb 14, 2018 @ 14:00
    Jeremy Pyne
    0

    The difference in the previews is because one has newlines and ones doesn't. When the results are stored as a single line like that it can't do anything pretty. When I looked you have to select them. I was at one point trying to enumerate all of them but had issues.

  • Nicola Bigwood 28 posts 98 karma points
    Feb 15, 2018 @ 10:24
    Nicola Bigwood
    0

    Is there a way to change how the results are stored, so that the preview is legible like your example? (Sorry if this is a silly question - I'm a product owner not a developer :) ) Thanks!

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft