Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Christophe 23 posts 43 karma points
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 16:12
    Christophe

Extending Session Timeout

Hello,

I would like to know where there is a setting for extending the session timeout while editing the content and development.  The annoying thing is that it does not give you a warning and will log you out losing your work if you didn't save.  I understand it is for security but right now it is just me and I get frustrated I have to log back in after I go get a drink.

I am a novice so it might frustrating for you if I don't understand (I'm even more a novice in ASP.NET and I have a hunch the answer way lay there.

Thank you in advance.  Merci d'avance.

Christophe

• Richard Soeteman 4035 posts 12842 karma points MVP
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 17:01
    Richard Soeteman

Hi,

You might want to checkout the attribute executionTimeout of the HTTPRuntime element in your web.config file. This is the configuration file for asp.net applications so also for Umbraco. Find more info at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/e1f13641.aspx

Cheers,

Richard

• Martin Kyukov 36 posts 231 karma points
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 12:11
    Martin Kyukov

The link is dead.

• Tim Watts 90 posts 395 karma points
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 15:15
    Tim Watts

Martin,

This link should give you the information you need: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/e1f13641(v=vs.100).aspx

Microsoft have marked this one as archived, but the recommended link is the broken one which was originally posted!

Just in case the link disappears again, it says that the default value for ExecutionTimeout is 110 seconds. The value is ignored if <system.web><compilation debug="true">

Tim

• Martin Kyukov 36 posts 231 karma points
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 15:19
    Martin Kyukov

Your reply is much appreciated!

• Simon Dingley 1470 posts 3427 karma points c-trib
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 17:19