Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Liz 5 posts 75 karma points
    Jan 22, 2018 @ 01:01
    Liz

Null Error When Logging In

Hi Umbraco peeps,

At the place I've started working, they had a website built a few years ago that was never maintained. Unfortunately, for about the last 8 months or so, no one has been able to log in due to receiving an error message (attached a screen shot).

The problem has now been passed to me, though I have no knowledge of Umbraco! I have some basic wordpress knowledge so some stuff is not completely foreign, but definitely still a beginner. I was hoping someone might be able to help me figure out what the problem is and if it's an easy fix. I tried to do a search for similar issues and found some threads about null errors but nothing that I can link to my exact problem.

We are in the process of moving our information to another platform, however that may take a few months and so in the meantime I would like to try and resolve the problem so we can make some minor content changes in the interim as the very out of date info on the site is causing a whole bunch of problems, lol.

If there is anyone who can help me figure out which exact file to be looking in / what the potential problem is, I would be forever grateful! :-)

enter image description here

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Jan 22, 2018 @ 09:46
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Liz

Can you check connection string to the database?

Please, have a look at web.config file - connectionStrings sections

/Alex

Jan 23, 2018 @ 08:11
    Liz

Hi Alex,

Just checked web.config file and found the connectionStrings section, which has the following:

enter image description here

I'm assuming I need to update the line with relevant information as per the commented line.