Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Robert 21 posts 122 karma points
    Aug 27, 2016 @ 13:24
    Robert

Some comments on SurfaceController/RenderMvcController

I am a traditional MVC developer for a couple of years. Just started to learn Umbraco.

After spending a bit time to go through whole framework, I would like to share some of my thoughts: 1. Back office concept is great and makes editor/creator life a lot easier. Whole idea is "Data first", "Data driven". Leave data formatting to the UI expert which I consider this is not a "programmer/developer" job.

1. Regarding controller, I cannot see big advantage over traditional MVC. Maybe I just started Umbraco... Why need to separate "SurfaceController/RenderMvcController" , why need to inherit RenderModel to bind customer model to the view? In traditional MVC binding model to the view and sending data from view to the controller is so easy and straightforward. The introducing of SurfaceController/RenderMvcController looks like "drawing snakes with legs". Maybe the idea behind these controllers are to communicate with Umbraco objects. If this is the case, maybe it could be called "UmbracoController", and leave "standard" MVC job to the traditional controller.

Thanks.

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:33
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Robert,

Umbraco has UmbracoApiController also, and yes this is for communicating with Umbraco context. It's really nice to work with it.

From docs:

A SurfaceController is an MVC controller that interacts with the front-end rendering of an UmbracoPage. They can be used for rendering Child Action content, for handling form data submissions and for rendering Child Action macros. SurfaceControllers are auto-routed meaning that you don't have to add/create your own routes for these controllers to work.