Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Umbraco Newbie 22 posts 124 karma points
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 19:52
    Umbraco Newbie

GetPropertyValue<>() remove hardcoded string

Hi

I'm new to Umbraco and have been working for a company now for 3mth as a junior developer.

I was told today not to use hard coded string in my code as if the value changes in the back office the code will break.

So my question is, if I have the following in a razor view:

if(Model.Content.GetPropertyValue<string>("siteName") == "SomeValue")
    {
    Do Something
    }   

How do I check the value of siteName to see if it matches what I'm looking for without hard-coding the value.

Thanks for any help

George

• Marc Goodson 2138 posts 14321 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 07:55
    Marc Goodson

Hi George

A little depends on the the context of what you are trying to achieve.

If you have functionality or design that varies across multiple sites within the same Umbraco installation (I am guessing from your if statement above) - then having a seperate set of templates for the different sites can make more sense.

So if two websites blah1 and blah2, share the same document type then having a seperate blah1-homepage and a blah2-homepage template can be a possible approach to prevent your templates becoming littered with multiple If statements.

But that may not be practical, there may be hundreds of templates, and you may only want to write out a different link or something on one template, for one site.

Depending on what you are about to write out in that if statement above, it's possible you could target the functionality to a feature, and test for that feature rather than hardcode the sitename...