Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Melinda 5 posts 75 karma points
    May 25, 2016 @ 13:20
    Melinda

Hello to everyone! I am a real newbie in web development and I have to work on Umbraco. I know a little about CMS, so never experienced on WordPress, Joomla! or whatever... :( Now, I would like to start learning about Umbraco using it through Visual Studio (2013 is the latest version I got) and try to learn ASP.NET at the same time. I began working in Umbraco dashboard with a blank install, but after creating a masterpage I got lost. So, I would like to have anything undercontrol with VS2013, understand how to work on it and try to start again.

Anyone could help me to start with a project? >.<

Thank you so much in advance! M.

• Paul Seal 524 posts 2889 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    May 25, 2016 @ 16:13
    Paul Seal

Hi Melinda I wrote an article recently to help you install Umbraco using Visual Studio, IIS and SQL Server.

Hopefully it will help you.

http://www.codeshare.co.uk/blog/how-to-install-umbraco-using-visual-studio-nuget-iis-and-sql-server/

Paul

May 26, 2016 @ 13:48
    Melinda

Hi Paul, thank you so much for your article! Now I set Umbraco on VS2013 correctly, but I still have a doubt: where do I find there the content (eg. starter pack pages, masterpages, etc.)? I just see some content going away when I stop debugging.

Thank you again M.

May 28, 2016 @ 08:52
    Paul Seal

Hi, you are welcome. You can install their starter kit by going to Developer > Packages > Install starter kit.

May 30, 2016 @ 07:30
    Melinda

Hi Paul, I got it but actually I can't see the starter kit content from Visual Studio and I am not sure if I will be able to create my new content in it. Do you know which folder on VS correspond to Umbraco section?

Sorry for this :(

May 30, 2016 @ 07:36
    Paul Seal