Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jay Mehar 9 posts 79 karma points
    Feb 22, 2018 @ 11:57
    Jay Mehar

Umbraco Website Migration for a Newbie

Hi Umbraco Community

Wondering if anyone can help an Umbraco newbie here.

I'm a junior web designer and am familiar with servers, FTP etc, however never migrated an Umbraco site before.

I have all the files backed up in .ZIP file (including .bak file) and ready to transfer to the new server. Could you advise on the process to ensure a successful migration without breaking the live site?

Thanks in advance

Jay

• Nik 1591 posts 7148 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Feb 22, 2018 @ 13:44
    Nik

Hi Jay,

So. I would start with restoring the database to the new location. Once the database is restored, unzip your website into the location where it is going to be stored. Then open the web.config and updated the connection string to point to the relocated database. You'll probably have to update server name, maybe database name if you change it, and the credentials for logging in.

In theory, that is your first step. You should then be able to assign the site a temporary domain name, or edit your local host file to point to the new server and see if you can access it.

If you can't access it, then you'll need to start going through debug steps. The first would be check all the permissions on the website directories and files. Then if you are getting a YSOD (Yellow screen of death) error message, try seeing if you can access the Umbraco back office. Depending on the error, this might be available still.

You then have 2 options, the first is to check the Umbraco logs for errors. If you don't find anything there and you are able to, consider turning Custom Errors to Off Remember to turn this back to RemoteOnly before making the site live