Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Jan 16, 2018 @ 15:37
    Matt Smith
    0

    IP addresses

    Hi

    Umbraco forms seem to collect IP address by default - is there a way to stop that?

    Thanks

    Matt

  • [email protected] 406 posts 2135 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Jan 16, 2018 @ 19:16
    jeffrey@umarketingsuite.com
    0

    What do you mean by that? Where is it collected?

  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Jan 17, 2018 @ 10:00
    Matt Smith
    0

    They are collected in:

    contour / the form / entries

    Thanks, Matt

  • [email protected] 406 posts 2135 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Jan 17, 2018 @ 14:57
    jeffrey@umarketingsuite.com
    0

    Aaah, valid point. I don’t think there’s not a simple switch you could click to prevent this. You’ll probably have to write something yourself.

    Sorry for that,

    Jeffrey

  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Jan 17, 2018 @ 15:31
    Matt Smith
    0

    Thanks Jeffrey, appreciated.

    Regards, Matt

  • Ricky 3 posts 73 karma points
    May 18, 2018 @ 09:49
    Ricky
    0

    Hey guys,

    are you able to advise Umbraco Forms allows you to annoymise or not record the IP address since your chat earlier this year?

  • [email protected] 406 posts 2135 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    May 18, 2018 @ 13:34
    jeffrey@umarketingsuite.com
    0

    Hi Ricky,

    the easiest way of fixing this is creating a trigger on your table. A trigger is executed after a record is inserted, updated or deleted. You could create a trigger on the table where UmbracoForms stores the records; UFRecords.

    CREATE TRIGGER anonymizeIpUmbracoForms ON UFRecords FOR INSERT
          AS
          BEGIN
            UPDATE UfRecords
            SET IP = 'n/a'
          END
    

    This will update the field IP always to 'n/a'.

    This is by far the easiest way. I think this will only work when your database is MS SQL Server (not SQL CE).

    Regards, Jeffrey

  • Ricky 3 posts 73 karma points
    May 18, 2018 @ 15:16
    Ricky
    0

    Smashing Thanks Jeffrey

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft