Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Elijah Fowler 1 post 71 karma points
    Mar 02, 2016 @ 22:06
    Elijah Fowler

How to Auto-fill umbracoUrlAlias with Friendly URL

Hi there everyone.

I've got a situation where I need to auto-fill the umbracoUrlAlias field with the Page Name turned friendly URL.

The purpose being my client does not like the page URLs following the node path, no matter how deep the page is he wants it to render like "http://sitename.com/page-name".

I've found/implemented a way to change all the links to the alias once it's set via this post.

Now all I need is to auto-fill the alias field so any help with that would be appreciated, or if you know a better way of accomplishing this task I'm all ears.

I'm new to Umbraco, so be easy on me if I'm blundering around. :)

Thanks,
    -Elijah

• Dallas 132 posts 404 karma points
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 02:50
    Dallas

Hi Elijah

You can use the Umbraco events to automatically populate the umbracoUrlAlias property value when the document is saved.

This thread shows an example of setting the pageTitle property on the ContentCreated event. Take a look at the Saving event documentation too.

This isn't exactly what you are after but you can also override the default url segment (not the whole url) with umbracoUrlName.

The magic property names work and are simple to implement but for full control you should look at implementing a custom ContentFinder and UrlProvider. You can use these to override the Umbraco routing. You could implement the custom UrlProvider to return only the page name (excluding all parent nodes) and the custom ContentFinder to find the page based on the url.

Dallas

• Allan Macfadyen 8 posts 88 karma points
    Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:29
    Allan Macfadyen