Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alex 30 posts 120 karma points
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 01:15
    Alex

Question about Umbraco.config file.

Hi everyone,

I was wondering about Umbraco.config and figured you would know :).

Long story short, as part of one of my Umbraco project (I am pretty new to Umbraco), I have this .config file as part of my repository and was wondering if I should remove it from there. I am investigating how it gets generated. 

What I have learned is that if I start my visual studio solution with no Umbraco.config file it gets generated on the fly. If I go to the backend and republish my whole website, it refreshes it as well with the latest changes in the database.

So that's cool, my conlusion is that I do not need this file in my source control however there is one thing I am not sure I understand and it bugs me.

The umbraco.config file generated at start up differs from the one after I republish the whole site (within minutes after starting my solution). Is this because the first, takes from a default date, while the second checks for the latest?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 07:21
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Alex

The umbraco.config file is the XML cache, which is where data is fetched from when you're rendering your pages. It represents each published node from the content tree. So you will need this file to make sure that things are speedy when rendering. You don't want to delete it permanently at all. The umbraco.config file will be updated each time that you save and publish a new page on your site or if you update the content of an exisiting page/node.