Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Sören Deger 733 posts 2844 karma points c-trib
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 15:30
    Sören Deger
    0

    How I can change width of navigation tree?

    Hi, 

    is there a simple way to change the width of navigation tree in umbraco 7? 

    If the node names are very long or if the structure is very deep the width of navigation tree is too small.

    It would be nice if the width would adjust automatically or if the width would be simply set on 50% of the screen width when the content ist too large. Or in responsive mode to 100% for smartphones and tablets.

    Has anyone a workaround for this?

     

    Sören

  • Odd Veibust 5 posts 27 karma points
    Dec 05, 2014 @ 09:45
    Odd Veibust
    0

    Hi Sören.

    Did you find a workaround for this? I'm having the same problem atm.

    -Odd

  • Tobias Klika 101 posts 570 karma points c-trib
    Dec 06, 2014 @ 21:53
    Tobias Klika
    0

    The width is hard-coded with px. Seems like they have used the static grid of an older Bootstrap version, where you can assign classes like "span6" (width: 360px) and "offset6". That's how the HTML is written for the tree view. Changing this would require to change the HTML of the back-office.

    Best solution would be to for someone to update the HTML/CSS of the backoffice to be a bit more "modern"/flexible, otherwise you will have a hard time to do this (only by changing the HTML or CSS (with !important ;-) )).

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 00:22
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Guys

    I think this should be reported on the issue tracker if it's still an issue.

    I don't think changing the width is the proper move though. I think that perhaps making sure that the line is wrapped into more lines instead is probably a better option :) But anyhow, good idea to report it and as Tobias is saying if one wants to do it manually it will require modifying some core files.

    /Jan

  • Tobias Klika 101 posts 570 karma points c-trib
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 01:23
    Tobias Klika
    0

    I am already trying to make it more flexible (forked Belle), but it's a bit of a pain with this fixed stuff -.-

  • Sören Deger 733 posts 2844 karma points c-trib
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 10:15
    Sören Deger
    0

    Hi Guys,

    I have reported an issue here:

    http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-5968

    Please vote for it. 

  • Matija Grcic 1 post -1 karma points
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 11:49
    Matija Grcic
    1

    You can use the tweaks.css in the ~/App_Plugins/tweaks/css/tweaks.css folder.

    .umb-tree div {
        overflow: visible; //so that the scrollbar shows in tree
    }
    
    .umb-tree li {
        min-width: 103%; //so that the options ... button is not over the labels
    }
    
  • Darren Wilson 229 posts 597 karma points
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 16:30
    Darren Wilson
    0

    Hi Soren,

    You can grab the small grey bar and extend the node tree. It's a manual process but saves having to code.

    Hope this helps. Darrenenter image description here

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jan 30, 2016 @ 11:16
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Just for anyone coming across this post the approach Matija mentions in a previous post is explained a bit by Matt Brailsford in this article from last seasons 24ways here http://24days.in/umbraco/2015/umbraco-7-back-office-tweaks/

    It mentions how it's possible to do other tweaks apart from styling too - Sooo nice and simple really :)

    Hope this helps someone.

    /Jan

  • Markus Johansson 1911 posts 5757 karma points MVP c-trib
    Jun 12, 2017 @ 21:32
    Markus Johansson
    0

    Hi guys!

    Just wanted to share that I found a "solution" that might be useful, there is a hacky way to do this that works:

    function resizeMyWindow() {
      var elem = $('#navigation');
      var elem = $('#navigation');
      var eastbar = elem.find(".ui-resizable-handle.ui-resizable-e").first(); 
     var pageX = eastbar.offset().left;
     var pageY = eastbar.offset().top;
    
      (eastbar.trigger("mouseover")
        .trigger({ type: "mousedown", which: 1, pageX: pageX, pageY: pageY })
        .trigger({ type: "mousemove", which: 1, pageX: pageX, pageY: pageY })
        .trigger({ type: "mousemove", which: 1, pageX: 300, pageY: pageY })
        .trigger({ type: "mouseup", which: 1, pageX: 300, pageY: pageY }));
      }
      resizeMyWindow();
     resizeMyWindow();
    

    Found it here: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2523522/how-to-trigger-jquery-resizable-resize-programmatically

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft