Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• pronto 61 posts 172 karma points
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 16:30
    pronto

Adding a new section with Application Startup

Hi All,

I am new to extending Umbraco and I am specifically trying to add a new section to an Umbraco 7 installation. I have found some tutorials that mention running a snippet of code at Umbraco startup, which has lead me to the 
    'application startup' process, which I am also unfamiliar with.

From what I can gather, I need to add this code to my global.asax file, but whatever I write in there (be it from a tutorial or Umbraco documentation) I always get a server error with "The content in the application file is not valid." so I must be doing something wrong!

So, I found the following code on http://antao.github.io/development/2013/12/29/creating-umbraco-7-custom-section.html but now I don't know where it should go and what else I need to configure:
    protected override void ApplicationStarted(UmbracoApplicationBase umbracoApplication, ApplicationContext applicationContext)
    {
      var sectionService = applicationContext.Services.SectionService;
      sectionService.MakeNew("My awesome section", "myAwesome", "awesome-icon", 10);
    }
    Can anyone point my in the right direction?
    Many thanks,
    pronto
  • Mike Chambers 635 posts 1252 karma points c-trib
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 16:56
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 10:08
    pronto

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the reply! I did find that tutorial as well but unfortunately for me it assumes that I know my way around the application startup process, which I don't! The following sentence from that article says the following: 

The first thing I’ll need to do is to create a class that implements the IApplication-interface so that Umbraco will initialize this class on start up. 

But how do I create this class? Where does it go etc...?

Many thanks,
    pronto