Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Damian Green 452 posts 1433 karma points
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 20:55
    Damian Green

How to bind to a value on another model / controller (or html element)

In its simples form - how do i bind a property on a model to an html element (a drop down list)?

i want the property editor to update itself when another property changes (a dropdownlist).

I have been looking at the watch and angular.element but cant suss it.

I was also looking at the bind also:

$scope.dropdown = angular.element($('#category-dropdown'));

$scope.dropdowns.change = function() {
                console.log('dropdown changed');
            }

im pretty new to angular so may be barking up the wrong tree here.

Any ideas how to do this?

Cheers Damian

• Doron Uziel 23 posts 93 karma points
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 21:36
    Doron Uziel

If I understand correctly you wish to listen to changes within another scope that is not the one created for your property editor. am I correct?

Is the other controller a part of your own code or are you trying to listen to a change in a third party property editor.

If its your own code you might want to use $rootScope.$broadcast to publish an event whenever the property has changed.

within your html:

<select ng-change="foo".... ng-model="bar"></select>,

the controller for this select:

angular.module("umbraco").controller("fooCtrl",function($scope,$rootScope){
                 $scope.foo=function(){
                       $rootScope.$broadcast("foo.changed",{data:$scope.bar});
                  }

});

Then within the "listenning controller":

$scope.$on("foo.changed",function(event,data){.... })

a very similair approach is to use the events Service