Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• David Gregory 82 posts 208 karma points
    Sep 14, 2015 @ 14:36
    David Gregory

Master Document Types Filtering

Hi all

If I have a master doc type with 10 properties. Then I create a child type but I only want 7 out of the 10 properties from the master.

How do I stop the 3 properties I don't want appearing in my child document type?

For example:

I'm thinkin from a users prospective. I may have a homepage that uses all 10 items. But then I may have a normal text page that only uses 7. How do i stop the user from seeing property editors for the 3 they don't need?

David

• Janae Cram 63 posts 439 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Sep 14, 2015 @ 15:01
    Janae Cram

Hey David :)

What version are you running in? If it's in 7.2.0, I'd probably use DocType compositions.

There's no way that I know of to hide inherited properties, so I would set the 7 properties you want on all DocTypes on the master and then set any properties you might want to use on multiple DocTypes on a composition that you can then select specifically on the HomePage and any other DocType you want to include those properties on. That said, I would only do that if I know I'm going to want those properties on multiple DocTypes, otherwise I'd just add the extra 3 properties to the Home Page itself.

~Janae

• Kevin Jump 2310 posts 14695 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 07:06
    Kevin Jump

Hi

It's also worth remembering that your document structure doesn't have to follow the structure of your website.

if you homepage has 10 things, and a normal page 7 then, you could look at this the other way around, your normal pages have 7 items and your homepage has three additional ones.