Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• SteveMid 25 posts 127 karma points
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 09:25
    SteveMid

I would like to develop a FAQ section for an Umbraco site I'm working on.

The questions & answers on the FAQ should be maintained by the client, and view-able on a couple of pages of the site (as side-bars on the 'contact us' page and the 'search results' page).

I'm still learning Umbraco so would appreciate some advice on the best way to achieve this.

I'm guessing that I should create a Partial View Macro file to display the FAQs (as it can be re-used on multiple pages) but I'm not sure how to store the data in a way the client can maintain the questions and answers, as they won't be under a single-page in the content section.

Will this require some custom database work, or is there an easier way to achieve this with the CMS?

• Paul Seal 524 posts 2889 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 16:29
    Paul Seal

Hi Steve Whenever I do FAQs, I usually use something like archetype or Nested content.

They allow you to have a list of items, one umbraco document type property. And each item can have more than one property on it.

So you would have a list of FAQs Each FAQ would have a question property and an answer property

You can create a surface controller called FAQs and have a Render Action method on it called RenderFAQs which load a model and pass it to a partial view.

It can then be called from any template.

Paul

• Francielle 65 posts 279 karma points
    Jul 10, 2017 @ 17:26
    Francielle

I did a FAQ page with Nested Content: https://our.umbraco.org/projects/backoffice-extensions/nested-content/ and created a field for Question and Answer. My FAQ was rendered in a single page, so I just did the below on a view, but you could create a partial and render it in the pages you want to:

@{