Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Fredrik 7 posts 27 karma points
    May 10, 2015 @ 16:17
    Fredrik

Duplicating a page template

Hi.

I am very new to Umbraco and I have been assigned to manage a company's website (which uses Umbraco). 

They want to make changes to a page that has page template X. The probem is that there is another page that also uses page template X, which means that when I make CSS alterations to the page I want to edit, I completely mess up the other page.

So ultimately, what I need to do is I need to duplicate the page template so that the pages can use separate templates. Problem is I am new to Umbraco and have absolutely no idea how to do this. 

Would really appreciate some help! Thanks alot.

Fredrik

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 10, 2015 @ 17:06
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Fredrik

You need to create a new template in the "Settings" section under the "template" folder and then copy the code from the original template into it. Then you can start modifying the template to the specific needs. Then in the "Document" type folder you need to find the document type that needs to have the option to choose different templates - Then you can select the possible templates for this document type and then mark the default template, which should be the one the new page is using by default when created in the "Content" section.

Then in the content section you can now change the template by going to the "Properties" tab and change the template from the dropdown.

I hope this makes sense :)

/Jan

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    May 10, 2015 @ 17:20
    Dennis Aaen

Hu Fredrik,

What you can do is create a new document type, for the page type that should have another template so you don´t mess up with the other page type I think these videos chapters can help you to archive your goal.