Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Dave Forster 28 posts 74 karma points
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 17:03
    Dave Forster

Prevent browsing to Umbraco Admin url

Hi,

This is my first post and I'm an Umbraco newbie so not sure whether i'm in the correct forum or whether this question has been asked/answered before (a search didn't throw up any results).. here goes :

Is it possible to prevent a site visitor from accessing the admin login page for Umbraco.  I would like to make the standard admin url inaccessible and instead set up a dedicated url for it.

example :
    prevent any visitor typing in http://www.mysite.com/umbraco/

then have the admin area accessible via :
    http://cms.mysite.com/

Having browsed some of the "sites using umbraco" I've noticed that some use default behaviour where you can browse directly to admin login and others seem to have this disabled (e.g. heinze.com).  I'd like to know how this is achieved.

Any help appreciated

Dave

Sep 10, 2010 @ 17:15
  • Connie DeCinko 931 posts 1160 karma points
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 20:34
    Connie DeCinko

The discuss never came to a solid conclussion, just a hack of renaming the login file.

• Seth Niemuth 275 posts 397 karma points
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 10:25
    Seth Niemuth

http://our.umbraco.org/forum/getting-started/installing-umbraco/13272-How-to-Lock-Down-Umbraco-Backend

Ismail makes a good point that you could ip restrict the backend. Another thing that you could do is on the IIS site for mysite.com you could redirect anyone going to the umbraco folder back to the main site and for cms.mysite.com you can set the home as /umbraco/umbraco.aspx.

• Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 11:14
    Tim

There are several ways you can do this.