Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• ThomasBrunbjerg 90 posts 182 karma points
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 13:16
    ThomasBrunbjerg

Altering existing property editors

I'm new to Umbraco and I need to create a custom property editor, consisting of a mix between two already existing editors.

What would be the best way to approach this? I've completed the property editor tutorial on the Umbraco site and I've downloaded a few projects that alter some property editors, but having a hard time understanding the code.

Right now I am trying to add some functionality to the standard media picker editor, but I am unsure where to start.

As i understand it, I need to get the media picker through the dialogService, but I've found no documentation anywhere for this.

• Tobias Klika 101 posts 570 karma points c-trib
    Aug 09, 2017 @ 13:48
    Tobias Klika

In the Angular controller you can create the config object for built-in editors and use it with <umb-editor /> in the template.

So for the media picker this would be in your template/view:

<umb-editor model="mediaPicker" ng-if="mediaPicker"></umb-editor>

And in your controller:

$scope.mediaPicker = {
        view: 'mediapicker',
        value: null, // or your value
        config: { disableFolderSelect: true, onlyImages: true }
    };

This defines that the editor should render and use the media-picker. Every editor has it's own options. Just look at the source code to find out how they are used. For media-picker you can find it here.

Be sure that your view attaches your controller ;-)

This is how you include the media picker property editor in another editor.

If you want to extend a built-in property editor, just look at it's source code and copy/alter it. The link to the source code is above.

• ThomasBrunbjerg 90 posts 182 karma points
    Sep 15, 2017 @ 06:46
    ThomasBrunbjerg