Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ayo Adesina 430 posts 1023 karma points
    Sep 11, 2017 @ 15:32
    Ayo Adesina

'this' vs $scope in AngularJS controllers

I'm making a custom section in umbraco's back office. I have seen some examples of people doing this in the controllers.

var vm = this;

In fact this is the same technique used in the umbrangular code garden 2017 example.

However when I'm learning angular out side of the context of umbraco I see lots of people saying that’s the old way, no good you should just use

$scope

I'm VERY new to Angular and I am a bit confused about which one I should use.

Is there an recommended approach when building custom UI sections in umbraco? or is it just a matter of preference?

I had to modify my code to get it to work with $scope when following the umbrangular example, so I'm not sure if I might run in to bigger problems later on....

What do people think?

• Kevin Jump 2310 posts 14695 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Sep 11, 2017 @ 16:18
    Kevin Jump

Hi

the var vm = this syntax comes from the Angular Best Practice Style guide and as such is probibly the best way to proceed.

There a number of advantages to referencing your view model like this - but principally it reduces the risks of you tripping up over your own (or other peoples) code when all of the classes and controllers have been loaded into umbraco.

The pattern i currently use for controllers is :

(function () {
        'use strict';

function myUmbracoController($scope, notificationsService) {

var vm = this;
            vm.loaded = false;

// functions
            vm.someFunction = someFunction;

/////////////////
            function someFunction(somevalue) {
                // code here
            }

}

angular.module('umbraco')
            .controller('myUmbracoController', myUmbracoController); 
    })();