Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 11:55
    Warren Buckley

Using Umbraco with Azure WebJobs

Hello all,
    I am currently in the process of rebuilding uHangout.co.uk website that heavily relies on the YouTube API.

My thought with the new site is not to use YouTube's direct API feed to power the website but to use an Azure WebJob to poll the YouTube API say once an hour and use the WebJob to import nodes into Umbraco, so extra meta information can be added that YouTube does not allow me to specify.

With this extra meta information stored on videos will make for much better searching using Examine to help people find the videos that they are looking for.

So I have no experience and very little understanding of how WebJobs works but from my limited knowledge I understand that there are two types. Queue based with a continuous running application listening for items in the queue or to use an application that runs and stops on a scheduled basis.

The scheduled WebJob approach is what I want to try and achieve. So Azure WebJobs are basically console applications under the hood. I need to know how I can use the Umbraco Service APIs in a console application to allow me to create and publish content nodes in my site.

If it is not possible my other thought, but seems a bit hacky/messy is to get the console application to do a HTTP POST to an Umbraco WebAPI route which then will allow me easily to then take the data and create the content node with the services as I will have a HTTP context.

So I would love to hear your thoughts on this and what could be done to help solve my problem of moving the constant polling of YouTube's APIs to less frequently and storing extra meta data in content nodes for better searching.

Cheers,
    Warren :)

• Tom Steer 161 posts 596 karma points