Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Brendan 2 posts 22 karma points
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 17:10
    Brendan

Data-driven website architecture with Umbraco

Hi,

I'm new to Umbraco and have a potentially large data driven website that also needs to be content driven and was wondering how to approach integrating it into Umbraco. 

Do I have to put data access code in the code-behind of user controls within the Umbraco project or can I create a  business layer class libraries or use an ORM? How do you create a DAL and use it through Umbraco's user control structure?

I was wondering how you to structure the projects using Visual Studio? Do you start by creating a new ASP.NET project or class library and then copy these into the Umbraco solution?

I know these are very broad questions but I'm not sure where to start. Any help or exampled would be appreciated.

• Jamie Howarth 306 posts 773 karma points c-trib
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 17:36
    Jamie Howarth

Hi Brendan,

It really depends on how you plan on managing the data within your application.

From personal experience, I would keep the data to be managed as Umbraco data - so creating document types and content nodes that, in essence, is my "table" structure. Then, I'd put the entire Umbraco site into a Visual Studio solution, create a separate web application project for the custom logic, POCO classes to wrap the Umbraco API, and then set it up as a dependency, with MSBuild targets to copy usercontrols across in the AfterBuild target. I can subsequently run my project using F5 and Cassini, or (my personal preference) set it up as a site within my local IIS and attach to process with F5.

I am currently working on the Blog4Umbraco project, which has a single C# project which contains all the classes and logic for the package.