Great feature, which worked at first. Now, I don't see the login pop-up when I am inactive for a while, it just reverts back to the login screen. Then, once I'm logged in again, the left content nodes are gone and only the right content is showing on the browser.
Any ideas what this could be?
So, from what I can see, the package comments out the polling function which tells you when you are about to be logged out. It doesn't seem to affect whether you get logged out or not.
It's even weirder when you try to create a node after this period - took me a minute to recognise the resultant screen!
I'm currently not using this package, instead I've modified the feepAlive function in my umbraco/umbraco.aspx file. Now it automatically renews my session every 15 minutes. Since I'm only using this on me dev environment it's nice and simple to swap out the file later.
I did take a look at trying to disable the timeout completely, but it got a little trick to do programmatically (or I didn't have/spend enough time looking into it!?) The package itself was a quick-n-dirty hack to solve my annoyance with 4.7.0
I'd recommend bumping up the value of "umbracoTimeOutInMinutes" (in your Web.config) to some ridicous value - say "10080" (a week)? Then revert it back on the live/production site.
As always, if you have an idea how to disable the timeout completely ... the source-code is avaliable, feel free to fork & push - I'll add it to the package!
Guys, thanks for the feedback and input! I will modify the web.config for now and maybe write my own code in the near future . :-)