Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Stewart Ellis 25 posts 64 karma points
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 21:22
    Stewart Ellis

Creating a mega dropdown menu system in umbraco

I’m new to umbraco and am looking for some guidance. Here’s the situation:

I would like to create a mega dropdown menu system for my site. This would be a true mega dropdown ala http://www.useit.com/alertbox/mega-dropdown-menus.html, not a dropdown with multiple child flyouts. I have the code to make everything work on the client side. I’m just trying to figure out the best way to store the data in umbraco and create a ui for managing the menu. I understand that by going this route, the menu will not auto update. Editors will indeed be responsible for managing the links within the menu. I have already built a “menu manager” tool in my own bespoke CMS that has this functionality, but I would like to understand the best way to do this in umbraco. 

Here is the data structure that I currently use:

menuId – int, primekey
    linkText – text, the text for the top level link
    linkUrl – text, the url for the top level link
    linkTarget – text, optional
    sort – int
    dropdownContent - text
    dropdownWidth – int, optional
    dropdownX – int, optional

Hopefully it’s pretty self-explanatory. Each record consists of a top level link and its child content. The child content is stored in “dropdownContent”. The properties “dropdownWidth” and dropdownX are optional fields that provide extra control for a dropdown that is wider than the default, or needs to be positioned to somewhere other than the bottom left of the parent link.