Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• John Dawson 24 posts 146 karma points
    Nov 13, 2018 @ 10:13
    John Dawson

Umbraco can't find any files within `Views` folder

Hi, I have started working as a dev on a web platform that has already been running for a couple of years. I have never used Umbraco before so I have a local copy of the build that I'm using to learn this CMS and this specific site setup.

I have it running fine on localhost through Visual Code and SQL Server Management Studio except when I try to access the Media folder and I get many 404 errors (within backoffice), e.g.:

Request error: The URL returned a 404 (not found): 
    views/media/edit.html

Request error: The URL returned a 404 (not found): 
    views/dashboard/media/mediafolderbrowser.html

Both these files exist and are in those locations so I'm not sure where the 404 is coming from? Perhaps they are referenced incorrectly elsewhere in some configuration file?

Thanks for your help,

John

• Dan Diplo 1554 posts 6205 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Nov 13, 2018 @ 10:29
    Dan Diplo

Can you check the browser developer console to see if there are any errors in the console? These are sometimes more specific. You can also check logs in /App_Data/Logs/ in case these hold more clues.

Sometimes these type of errors can be caused by a corrupted cache. So I'd go to the /App_Data/ folder in Umbraco and delete the entire contents of the /TEMP/ folder in there. This will get re-created with fresh versions. You can also try clearing your browser cache for the site, too.

You can also try running in debug mode (ie. setting debug='true' in web.config) to see if this helps (this disables Umbraco's JS caching via the Client Dependency framework).

Nov 13, 2018 @ 10:36
    John Dawson

So here's what's in the console when in the Media folder in the backoffice: enter image description here