Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Thomas Kahn 602 posts 506 karma points
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 11:39
    Thomas Kahn

Contour: Save as Umbraco document with dynamic parent (where to save)?

I'm new to Umbraco Contour, but after just 1 hour I have figured out how most things work and I must say that it's worth every cent! Wonderful add-on! Great job!

Now to my question:

I'm working on a solution where I will have the same form on 8 different pages on my site.

The pages represent people, so let's say that I'm on Brenda Oswalds's page, users can use the form to ask Brenda a question. If I'm on Kevin Smith's page, the user will use the form to ask Kevin a question.

On submit the form info is saved as an Umbraco page. I've seen that I can specify a location where I want the new page to be saved (the "where to save" parameter).

Is it possible to set a more dynamic value for "where to save", something like (pseudo code): save the new page as a subpage to the page where the form instance is currently on?

If that's not possible, my other option will be to create 8 separate forms with 8 separate workflows, each with its own "where to save" parameter value. I just thought I'd check before I go about creating all these forms.

Regards,
    Thomas Kahn

• Michael Lawrence 128 posts 200 karma points
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 21:32
    Michael Lawrence

You could just create a custom workflow that handles this I imagine. Maybe it could read from a property from the document type of the current page that tells it what the parent ID you want to save to is?

Jun 14, 2010 @ 11:14
    Thomas Kahn

Hi Michael!

Yes, it looks like a custom workflow is the only way to accomplish this. I'm not sure if I have the time to dive into that - I have a tight deadline to meet.

Thanks for yor reply!

/Thomas

Jun 16, 2010 @ 21:06
    Michael Lawrence