Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Drew Garratt 44 posts 192 karma points
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 14:59
    Drew Garratt

Creating custom FieldType with multiple SingleLine textboxes

I'm just getting started with creating my own field type and after following a few examples I have the basics down. But I seem to have fallen of perhaps a lack of experience with System.Web.UI.WebControls.

What I'd like to do with a number of Datatypes is include multiple <inpt type="text"> elements in a single FieldType. That I might generate output like the example bellow.

<div class="contourField firstname textfield">
      <label for="e9a2373e-405a-488a-81d9-bf0b37044c6e" class="fieldLabel">Name</label>  
      <input type="text" name="First-Name" id="First-Name" class="text" value="" maxlength="500">
        <input type="text" name="Last-Name" id="Last-Name" class="text" vale="" maxLength="500">
      <span class="field-validation-valid" data-valmsg-for="e9a2373e-405a-488a-81d9-bf0b37044c6e" data-valmsg-replace="true"></span>
    </div>

My trouble I is I'm not sure what element to create to return in the public override WebControl Editor or indeed if I will need to define a custom Control to match up with this.

I also believe I'd be right in thinking that I would need to add an additional view to control the rendered output.

Has anyone tackled this previously who might be able to point me in the right direction?

Thanks everyone ^-^
    Drew

Umbraco 6.0.3 - Contour 3.0.10

• Comment author was deleted

Apr 24, 2013 @ 15:01

Hey Drew,

The webcontrols are needed if you want to render the form with the usercontrol macro if you want to render with the razor macro you'll need to setup the view

What will you be using then I can give you some extra details 

Apr 24, 2013 @ 15:06
    Drew Garratt

Hi Tim,