Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Marty 7 posts 52 karma points
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 17:50
    Marty

User Permissions not behaving as expected

I've been using Umbraco as a web developer for at least 3 years now (starting with 4.7) and have recently started using v7. I've built a few sites with it already but I've encountered the same issue with each one:

Each user I create should have base permissions of 'Browse', 'Publish' and 'Update' (No deleting core pages such as the Home Page or Contact Page), with 'Create' permissions on specific nodes such as 'News'.

Now when I set up all of this, the user can reach the create page, but there is no 'Save and Publish' button, preventing the user from actually creating the page. I'm using the latest release of Umbraco 7 (7.1.4), and the same thing happens on a local build via Visual Studio, as well as in a live environment. I've tried using both SQL Server Compact and SQL Server 2012 but the issue still persists.

Below are the steps to re-create the issue:

• Right click users, click create.
    • Enter a Login Name (for this example let's name him Bob), and e-mail ([email protected]) then click 'Create' (Edit User tab is displayed)
    • Click 'Change Your Password' and enter the a password into both fields (for this example, I used 'password')
    • Change the 'User Type' to 'Editor'
    • Check 'Content' and 'Media' under 'Sections'
    • Click the 'Save' button at the top right of the page.

The user 'Bob' has now been created

• Next, expand the 'User Types' section in the Users tree and click 'Editor' to edit the default permissions.
    • Un-check everything except 'Browse Node', 'Publish' and 'Update' - we want Bob to be able to edit existing content nodes, but not delete them. 
    • Click the Save button at the top of the top right of the page.