Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • nojaf 91 posts 300 karma points
    May 15, 2014 @ 09:34
    nojaf
    0

    Visual Studio 2013 Update 2 package.manifest intellisense

    With the new update to VS 2013, would there be a way to have intellisense when editing a package.manifest file?

  • Jeavon Leopold 3072 posts 13628 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 15, 2014 @ 09:36
  • nojaf 91 posts 300 karma points
    May 15, 2014 @ 11:17
    nojaf
    0

    Jup, sure looks like it. Kudos to Warren.

    But how can I tell VS that a package.manifest file is actually a json file?

  • nojaf 91 posts 300 karma points
    May 16, 2014 @ 12:12
    nojaf
    2

    Found it, in VS just search for file extensions

    enter image description here

  • Jeavon Leopold 3072 posts 13628 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 16, 2014 @ 12:49
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Awesome, going to setup that up!

    Thanks

  • Jason Espin 368 posts 1335 karma points
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 14:53
    Jason Espin
    0

    Hi Jeavon,

    This may be a slightly stupid question, but how do you plug that gist into Visual Studio so that the Intellisense actually works?

    Cheers,

    Jason

  • Jeavon Leopold 3072 posts 13628 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:00
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Hi Jason,

    You add a $schema at the top of the file. e.g.

    {
      "$schema" :  "http://schemastore.org/schemas/json/package.manifest.json",
      "propertyEditors": [
    

    Also please note the update to the schema url in the above snippet.

    Jeavon

  • Jason Espin 368 posts 1335 karma points
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:21
    Jason Espin
    0

    This isn't adding Intellisense for me.

  • Jeavon Leopold 3072 posts 13628 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:24
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Did the elements change colour or is all the content all black in VS?

  • Søren Reinke 158 posts 206 karma points c-trib
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 07:46
    Søren Reinke
    0

    I tried it also.

    I get coloring of the elements, but no intellisense.

    And i get a green line under each of the first chars, telling me 'Missing a membername before the colon (':') in the "(name) : (value)" object member'

    And this part:

        javascript: [

            '~/App_Plugins/TextboxCounter/TextboxCounter.controller.js'

        ]

     

    I get an 'unexpected character sequence in array element value' from the link to the controller.js file.

    My manifest works fine. 

  • Warren Buckley 2106 posts 4836 karma points MVP ∞ admin hq c-trib
    Jul 22, 2014 @ 12:35
    Warren Buckley
    0

    Hello all
    Thanks Jeavon for plugging my work on this.

    I got Mads Kristensen to pick up my starting point & finish it off, so I recommend you set this URL for the schema: http://json.schemastore.org/package.manifest

    Thanks,
    Warren

  • Lee 1130 posts 3088 karma points
    Oct 01, 2015 @ 08:51
    Lee
    1

    @soren just change this line

    javascript: [
            '~/App_Plugins/TextboxCounter/TextboxCounter.controller.js'
        ]
    

    to this

    "javascript": [
            "~/App_Plugins/TextboxCounter/TextboxCounter.controller.js"
        ]
    
Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft