Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• pikej 27 posts 47 karma points
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 21:54
    pikej

SiteMapPath with umbraco

hello there,

I would like to add SiteMapPath at the top of my website so the users know where they are. I am pretty new to umbraco and do not know how to do it. Can you help?

Thanks in advance.

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 22:44
    Rich Green

Hi,

I think you might need to explain what you are trying to do a little more clearly.

Are you trying to :

Rich

• Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2196 karma points MVP
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 01:43
    Kim Andersen

Hi pikej

For me it sounds like you are trying to create a so called breadcrumb, like the third option Rich mentioned above.

You can actually create this pretty easy in Umbraco, because there's a default XSLT template build for this.

You need to go to the Developer section and right click the XSLT-folder in the bottom of the tree. Then you choose to create a new one. Give the new file a name (let's call it Breadcrumb), and then in the second field in the dialog window, you can choose to use the XSLT template called Breadcrumb. When you click the create button, you'll now have a XSLT file and a macro if you didn't uncheck the "create macro"-checkbox - which you didn't, right? ;)

To use this macro, you simply go to the Settings section, and finds the template where you want to insert the breadcrumb. This is often in the Master template, but you can put it where ever you like. Just click the "insert macro"-button in the top, and select the newly created macro called Breadcrumb. Now your should have a working breadcrumb for your site.

Hope this was what you where looking for :)

/Kim A

Dec 21, 2010 @ 15:57
    pikej

hello guys, thanks a lot for your help.