Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sean Valentine 11 posts 100 karma points
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 13:32
    Sean Valentine

Restricted web pages still being able to access

Hi,

I've moved from Dotnetnuke to Umbraco and i'm still learning about all of it's functions so i apologise if this is a simple answer.

I've created a document type called Dashboard and that also has sub-document types (jobs, contact, reports, help etc.)

After creating my templates and following the tutorials i have set up the website and restricted the Dashboard page to a Role Group called clients.

Now, when i'm logged out and unauthenticated, if i were to hit the page www.mydomain.com/1152.aspx (where node 1152 is the dashboard page) it would redirect you to the appropriate login page. But if i attempt to hit www.mydomain.com/dashboard.aspx it won't and it will allow you to see the dashboard template.

How do i secure the dashboard page from being accessed by dashboard.aspx? It also applies if i navigate to www.mydomain.com/jobs.aspx, in fact any of the dashboard sub-document types are accessible this way.

Thanks

Sean

• Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 13:37
    Douglas Robar

Hi, Sean, and welcome to the Umbraco community!

Sounds as though you've probably got things set up correctly if direct access to the page ID (/1152.aspx) gives the correct behaviour. It's interesting that using the proper url for the page doesn't do that.

Can I ask what version of Umbraco you're using?

cheers,
    doug.

• Sean Valentine 11 posts 100 karma points
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 14:41
    Sean Valentine

Hi Doug,

It says i'm using version Umbraco v6.1.6 (Assembly version: 1.0.5021.24867)

Thanks

Sean

Mar 05, 2014 @ 14:57
    Douglas Robar

Thanks, Sean, that's helpful.