Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• kalor 12 posts 32 karma points
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 10:20
    kalor

starter kit fail

Hi guys,

Total noob here. Just downloaded and installed Umbraco, and it timed out installing the starter kit (business). When I got to installing skins it just took me back to the same page with no message. When I tried a different skin it took me to "you're done". Is there supposed to be content with a starter kit? I have no content and only two document types: "u media slider" and "u media sliders". I've tried using the links to install other starter kits but nothing changes. Should I start again? How do I do that?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 17:51
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Kalor

Just to be clear here - is it Umbraco 4.6.1 that you have installed? (This is the latest stable release).

Can you tell us a bit more about your setup? Is it run locally or on a webhost?

Has the sufficient permissions been set for the network service and iusr? Is the application pool running integrated mode?

Please ellaborate a bit more - then it's easier to help you out. (This could perhaps also be an unreported bug...hard to tell at the moment :))

/Jan

• Nick Portelli 76 posts 102 karma points
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 21:05
    Nick Portelli

Same happens here.  I'm running locally, in integrated mode.  It works on a clean install it seems but if you upgrade then it does not work at all...or if you try and change a skin.

• Mike 21 posts 42 karma points
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 21:30
    Mike

@kalor
    It seems to me that it´s an permission issue. The installer isn´t the best thing when it comes to check if the permission settings is correct for Umbraco. The things that you describe have happend to me also when the server dosen´t have the correct permissions. Just to bad that Umbraco dosen´t seems to check that.