Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• harpreet 17 posts 37 karma points
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:29
    harpreet

Unable to install Umbraco on local website

Hi,

I am totally new to Umraco. Infact this is my first post to the forums. I am trying from quite some time to get Umbraco working. I intend to install CMs on the subdomain of my site.

Initially, I tried to install Umbraco on my local ASP.NET and chose the web platform installation. During the installation process, I get this error:

User or role 'sarin' does not exist in the database. How do I create one?

Secondly, whenI was creating subdomain, the Panel showed ASP.NET 2.0 support for subdomain. I know that my host provides support for ASP.NET 3.5 for my main domain.

Is it that I read something wrong while creating subdomain or subdomain will have different ASP.NET support?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 22:12
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Harpreet

Have you chosen to install the MSSQL server express 2008 as well? If so I think that it's during that process you need to create the DB user as well?

Is it an option for you to download the binaries from codeplex perhaps and install Umbraco using them instead of the installer perhaps?

You can find them here: http://umbraco.codeplex.com/

/Jan

Jan 10, 2011 @ 06:44
    harpreet

Hi Jan,

Thanks for the reply.I entered the correct Database username and password and I checked the login credentials by logging in to SQL Server Managment Studio Express 2008 through sql authentication.

I have downloaded the binaries from Codeplex but I need some help on what and how to use these?

Jan 10, 2011 @ 18:57
    harpreet

Hi,

Atlast I was able to install Umbraco on my local machine but on trying to run the application from Visual Studio. I encounter this error: