Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Geoff Baldwin 80 posts 100 karma points
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 19:26
    Geoff Baldwin

Can't create the database or use existing

Hi,

I am totally new to Umbraco and have limited experience on SQL and web development. I have developed a number of simple web sites using VSE and asp.net 3.5 plus a slightly less simple one using an SQL database to provide membership details of a chamber of commerce, events, news etc.This used a rudimentary single admin role to provide the ability to edit page contents which was stored in a database.

I want to develop 'proper' CMS systems and so decided to look at Umbraco.

I have installed VSE 2010, SQL Express 2008 R2 etc and have got part way through installing Umbraco 4.5.2 onto a Laptop runing XP Professional SP2.

I cannot get past theDatabase creation part. At step 1 I have entered taken Default Web Site and entered UmbracoCMS into the UmbracoCMS Application Name box.All other boxes are greyed out and will not accept input.

At Step 2 Enter application information I have tried two approaches:

1. Create New Database

It asks for a Database Administrator for the database.
    As the database does not exist I assume that it wants to create the admin username so I enter  UmbracoAdmin and UmbracoAdminpw as the password; I accept the prompted umbracouser as the database username and provide a password of umbracouserpw

(again, I asume that these are being created and that authentication isn't taking place against anything.

My .\sqlexpress server is configured for windows authentication and I am logged on as a user with sysadmin role.

When I click 'continue' I get an error

The folowing error occurred when trying to connect to the database by using the specified arameters:
    Login failed for user 'Umbraco Admin'

I tell the system not to continue with the Install

2. Use Existing Database