Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Matthew Tindall 2 posts 22 karma points
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 00:30
    Matthew Tindall

Unrecognized configuration section system.web.extensions.

HELP ME!!!

(It wont help that im new at asp .net, but it seems to be able to amazing things and i really want to get to grips with it)

I have an asp .net server package with 1&1 and im trying to put Umbraco on it. Since i place files on the server by ftp and allow "applications" by using there in browser file uploading tool. Also for using my mySQL databases i am not able to access them "off site".

Now than the backgroud is layed out here is my issue. I downloaded the full 4.5 ZIP and placed all files within the "build" folder onto my server. I then try to access the site via the url http://www.whizzkidz-servers.co.uk/um/ and i recive this error:

Configuration Error

Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Unrecognized configuration section system.web.extensions.

Source Error:

Line 153:
    Line 154:  <!-- ASPNETAJAX -->
    Line 155:  <system.web.extensions>
    Line 156:    <scripting>
    Line 157:      <scriptResourceHandler enableCompression="true" enableCaching="true" />

Source File: E:\kunden\homepages\40\d329609254\um\web.config    Line: 155

• Sascha Wolter 615 posts 1101 karma points
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 01:29
    Sascha Wolter

Hi Matthew,

I remember having a similar problem once, I think it was because the <system.web.extension> section was not at the right place (after <system.web>), might be worth a check however seems highly unlikely if it's a fresh download.

Do you know which version of .Net your 1&1 environment is using? Do you have an idea if ASP.Net AJAX is installed?