Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Lars Pedersen 8 posts 58 karma points
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 21:50
    Lars Pedersen

How to create a link to a SurfaceController action

As I am new to Umbraco, I have not quite understood the routing mechanisms it seems.

I have a custom surface controller (myProject.Controllers.CompanySurfaceController) with a getCompanyList() and getCompany(int companyId) function.

The basic idea is to get the list of companies from the db, render the partial view with classic <a> links to the getCompany(..) function and retrieve/display that company from the db.

Everything is working fine except one thing: I cannot grasp how to create the <a> links to the child action of the controller! I have no problem including child actions in partial views when POSTing and using Html.Action.

I have tried @Html.ActionLink and other helpers but the closest I get to, is a link for /umbraco/Surface/CompanySurface/Company, which doesn't work of course and it does not include the id parameter (e.g. Company/3). I have also tried to put the controllers in the umbraco/Surface namespace without luck (and it does not seem necessary).

What am I missing here?

Your help would be much appreciated on my steep hill climp here!

• Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:57
    Steve Morgan

Hi Lars,

Can I just check that you're getting data from a third party DB / set of tables? Just want to check you're not just trying to get data from Umbraco itself (which you can do with much more simple vanilla Razor script). It can be easy to get a bit confused when you start with Umbraco so sorry to ask a basic question.