Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jens Kvist 10 posts 30 karma points
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 20:20
    Jens Kvist

Get generic properties from a page

Hello guys!

I just started using Umbraco for 2 days ago, and I must say... It's a pretty awesome CMS. Anyway, now you know that I am a newbie at this. So I hope you guys could help me with something.

I need to make a script that takes the generic properties from my About page. I have the "Title" and the "bodyText" property, that I would like to display when I drag n drop my macro into my site. Pretty simple, but as I explained earlier. I am new at this, so I don't know how to do it, or it explain it.

Well, I hope you peeps understand my bad english and ability to explain this new language.

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 20:58
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Jens and welcome to Our!

There are several ways on how to get generic properties on a page in Razor. It depends on whether you are using MVC or MacroScripts Razor.

If you´re using a 7.x.x version the defaultRenderingEngine is set to use MVC. A way that you can see if you´re using MVC or MacroScripts is when you´re creating your macros.

If you´re using want to use MVC it looks like this and you have to create it under the folder Partial View Macro Files in the developer section :

@inherits Umbraco.Web.Macros.PartialViewMacroPage

So if you´re using PartialViewMacroPage (MVC) you can access  generic properties like this;

@CurrentPage.Title 
    @CurrentPage.BodyText

If you´re using  MacroScripts when you creates a empty macroScript file it looks like this (Remember to use cshtml and not VBscript) It´s under the Scripting files folder in the developer section too.:

@inherits umbraco.MacroEngines.DynamicNodeContext

Then you can can access  generic properties like this

@Model.Title 
    @Model.BodyText