Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andrew Blackmore 84 posts 127 karma points
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 19:26
    Andrew Blackmore

Displaying Excerpts and a multiblog page with Blog4Umbraco

Hi All,

I'm new to Umbraco but so far it seems to be heads and shoulders above anything I've ever used. I couldn't find a solution to this anywhere in the current forums. I am currently using it to move my company's network of 6 blogs onto our own server and off of blogger. I set up the blogs very easily with Blog4Umbraco but not have some questions about extending it.

The first is on each blog starting page, it displays the entirety of each post. I'd like it to show 12 lines or so for the most recent post and only about 5 lines for each the next few. I don't really know how to go about implementing this...any points in the right direction would be a hugeeeee help.

The second is a bit of a different issue with some similarities. I need a network homepage that displays most recent posts from all the blogs that are child nodes of the page. Also, like the first issue, this needs to display 12 lines or so from the most recent post and only 4 or 5 from the previous ones.

Thanks in advance for any help or clues as to solving this puzzle.

• Morten Bock 1867 posts 2140 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 20:05
    Morten Bock

The excerpt of a post is a bit of a classic dilemma. There are a few ways of doing this sort of thing:

1: Add a new property on the blogpost type, to manually enter the excerpt.

2: Strip the html, and take the first x chars of the body text

3: Do some intelligent parsing of the post so you can f.ex. render the first three <p> sections of the post

4: Have the editor insert some sort of split identifier in the post. This might pa something like putting a class on a paragraph like <p class="split">. Then use this identifier to get the excerpt.